Logo Anna-Monika-Stiftung [Prize Competition]  [Committee of Judges]
[Award Winners]
[Managing Board]  [History]  [Home]

Stifter: Peter Rehme
In the future AMS will provide you with valuable information about current research in the field of depression. Stay tuned! 
Just click on the button to get the latest news on depression from various wire services.
Enter your email address below and you will get free notifications about future updates.

Email this Site to a colleague!

Anna-Monika Foundation

24th Prize Giving Ceremony on 27 November 2013 in Berlin (hosted by the German Society of Psychiatrists and Psychotherapists at its Annual Meeting).

The Anna-Monika Prize is awarded bi-annually to clinical scientists who have made major contributions to the understanding of the underlining neurobiological mechanisms of depression and who have advanced the pharmacological options for affective disorders. In 2013, the Anna-Monika-Foundation was again privileged to honor a leading researcher for his groundbreaking work in the field.

This year’s Anna-Monika award winner is Prof. Alan F. Schatzberg, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University School of Medicine, USA.

Prof. Schatzberg received the prize for his outstanding research into new therapy approaches, especially for the treatment of delusional depression. He is one of the leading North American clinical and scientific psychiatrists. In his research work, he focuses on the interactions between the stress hormone (cortisol) system and dopamine metabolism, both on a basic science basis and in clinical studies. A special merit of Prof. Schatzberg’s work is the early recognition of the significance of antiglucocorticoid therapies, for example with mifepristone (RU486), and their possible introduction into psychiatric practice. This research approach implemented by Prof. Schatzberg and his group was adopted by a number of companies and is undergoing Phase III clinical trials. In addition, Prof. Schatzberg has supported the use of antiglucocorticoid therapeutic methods by systematic neurobiological research, including neuroendocrine studies, genetics, brain imaging as well as studies of cognition and its relationship to cortisol activity. Prof. Schatzberg’s work has contributed both to a better understanding of the pathophysiology of severe depression disorders and to the development of novel treatment approaches.

Since its inception in 1965, the Anna-Monika-Foundation (http://www.anna-monika-stiftung.com) has achieved world-wide recognition within the scientific community dedicated to research in major depression. The major goal of the Foundation is to motivate researchers to participate in its bi-annual prize competition. To date, many outstanding researchers with significant contributions to scientific knowledge about depression have been identified and so honored. The list of laureates from Europe and the USA reads like a “Who’s Who” of prominent researchers in depression research giving the Anna-Monika-Prize wide spread international recognition. Respected scientists from around the world have contributed greatly to the success of the Foundation through their voluntary service as members of the Prize Jury.

v. l. n. r.: Prof. Dr. Rainer Rupprecht, Prof. Dr. Alan F. Schatzberg, Prof. Dr. Dr. Dr. Florian Holsboer,
Michael Bommers, Dr. Jürgen Stolze

[Prize Competition]  [Committee of Judges]  [Award Winners]  [Managing Board]  [History]  [Home]

For more information about the Anna-Monika-Stiftung please send e-mail to Michael Bommers
Information provided on this Website is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice.
Only your healthcare provider should diagnose your healthcare problems and prescribe treatment.

© Anna-Monika-Stiftung. Last update: 30.01.2014